Faculty

click on arrows to sort by name or research area

  Name Contact Info Reseach Area & Interests
Pedro Arduino Arduino, Pedro
Professor
More 132I
parduino@uw.edu
(206) 543-6777
Geotechnical Engineering

Computational geomechanics; Constitutive modeling of soils; Finite elements; Meshless techniques; Soil structure interaction; Geotechnical earthquake engineering and hazard analysis
Mark M. Benjamin Benjamin, Mark M.
Professor
More 335
markbenj@uw.edu
(206) 543-7645
Environmental Engineering

Physical-chemical water and wastewater treatment; Membrane-based technology for water and waste treatment
Jeffrey W. Berman Berman, Jeffrey W.
Thomas & Marilyn Nielsen Associate Professor
More 214C
jwberman@uw.edu
(206) 616-3530
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Seismic Design of Steel Structures; Destructive and Nondestructive Testing; Structural Control and Passive Energy Dissipation
Linda Ng Boyle Boyle, Linda Ng
Associate Professor
MEB G5
linda@uw.edu
(206) 616-0245
Transportation Engineering

Impact of adaptive behaviors of drivers on safe driving
Michael T. Brett Brett, Michael T.
Professor
More 304
mtbrett@uw.edu
(206) 616-3447
Environmental Engineering

Eutrophication and regulation of algal biomass and secondary production in lakes; Essential fatty acid production and bioaccumulation in aquatic food webs; Zooplankton and aquatic food-web ecology; Terrestrial and aquatic ecosystem coupling; Nutrient bioavailability and biogeochemical recalcitrance
Stephen J. Burges Burges, Stephen J.
Professor Emeritus
Wilcox 160
sburges@uw.edu
(206) 543-7135
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Surface water hydrology; Urban hydrology and water resources management; Stream and river channel dynamics
Cynthia Chen Chen, Cynthia
Associate Professor
More 133A
qzchen@uw.edu
(206) 543-8974
Transportation Engineering

Travel Behavior Analysis; Use of GPS/GIS Technologies in Travel Surveys; Transportation Demand Forecasting
Seana Davidson Davidson, Seana
Research Associate Professor
Ben Hall
skdavid@uw.edu
(206) 685-2626
Environmental Engineering

Microbe-host interactions (symbionts and parasites); Diversity and co-evolution of symbiotic bacteria; Microbial ecology and potential applications of vermicompost systems
Michael Dodd Dodd, Michael
Assistant Professor
More 305
doddm@uw.edu
(206) 685-7583
Environmental Engineering

Chemical oxidation and disinfection processes in drinking water and wastewater treatment; Abiotic processing of dissolved organic matter (DOM) in natural and engineered systems; Decentralized wastewater and drinking water disinfection
Marc O. Eberhard Eberhard, Marc O.
Professor
More 233A
eberhard@uw.edu
(206) 543-4815
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Reinforced and Prestressed Concrete; Earthquake and Tsunami Engineering; Rapid Construction
Anne Goodchild Goodchild, Anne
Allan & Inger Osberg Associate Professor
More 121E
annegood@uw.edu
(206) 543-3747
Transportation Engineering

Freight Transportation and Logistics; Freight Transportation and Air Quality
Heidi Gough Gough, Heidi
Research Assistant Professor
More 301
hgough@uw.edu
(206) 221-0791
Environmental Engineering

Microbial processes in wastewater treatment; Biotransformation of emerging contaminants; Anaerobic digestion; Sediment biogeochemistry; Subsurface bioremediation; Applied microbial ecology
Robert D. Holtz Holtz, Robert D.
Professor Emeritus
More 132F
holtz@uw.edu
(206) 543-7614
Geotechnical Engineering

Geosynthetics; Soil improvement foundations and soil properties
Alexander R. Horner-Devine Horner-Devine, Alexander R.
Allan & Inger Osberg Associate Professor
Wilcox 163
arhd@uw.edu
(206) 685-3032
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Environmental fluid mechanics; Coastal oceanography and geophysical fluid dynamics; River plumes
Faisal Hossain Hossain, Faisal
Associate Professor
Wilcox 167
fhossain@uw.edu
(206) 616-9361
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Hydrologic remote sensing; Hydroclimatology; Human impacts; Water resources management; Capacity building and education
Erkan Istanbulluoglu Istanbulluoglu, Erkan
Associate Professor
Wilcox 164
erkani@uw.edu
(206) 543-7923
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Ecohydrology; Surface Water and Urban Hydrology; Geomorphology
Donald J. Janssen Janssen, Donald J.
Associate Professor
More 121G

(206) 543-9655
Construction Engineering

Construction Materials; Pavements
Andrew T. Jessup Jessup , Andrew T.
Professor
Henderson Hall, 275
jessup@apl.washington.edu
(206) 685-2609
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Air-Sea Interaction; Remote Sensing
Jessica Kaminsky Kaminsky, Jessica
Assistant Professor
More 121H
jkaminsk@uw.edu
(206) 221-3058
Construction Engineering

Civil Infrastructure; Developing Communities; Global Engineering Projects and Organizations; Social Sustainability; Qualitative Methods
Amy Kim Kim, Amy
Assistant Professor
More 133B
amyakim@uw.edu
(206) 685-0228
Construction Engineering

Gregory V. Korshin Korshin, Gregory V.
Professor
More 307
korshin@uw.edu
(206) 543-2394
Environmental Engineering

Corrosion and metal release in drinking water; Formation of halogenated disinfection by products; Chemistry and reactivity of natural organic matter
Steven L. Kramer Kramer, Steven L.
Professor
More 132E
kramer@uw.edu
(206) 685-2642
Geotechnical Engineering

Geotechnical earthquake engineering; Soil dynamics; Foundation engineering
Timothy V. Larson Larson, Timothy V.
Professor
Wilcox 269
tlarson@uw.edu
(206) 543-6815
Environmental Engineering

Air Quality (Management Aspects); Measurement Methods for Atmospheric Aerosols; Precipitation Scavenging
Dawn E. Lehman Lehman, Dawn E.
Associate Professor
More 214B
delehman@uw.edu
(206) 715-2108
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Seismic design and upgrading of reinforced concrete structures; Development of performance-based seismic design procedures for reinforced concrete bridge columns
Dennis P. Lettenmaier Lettenmaier, Dennis P.
Robert and Irene Sylvester Professor
Wilson 202D
dennisl@uw.edu
(206) 543-2532
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Hydroclimatology; Surface water hydrology; GIS and Remote Sensing
Laura N. Lowes Lowes, Laura N.
Associate Professor
More 233C
lowes@uw.edu
(206) 685-2563
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Numerical modeling for structural systems behavior; Constitutive theory; Experimental investigation of structural material; element and system response
Jessica D. Lundquist Lundquist, Jessica D.
John R. Kiely Associate Professor
Wilcox 165
jdlund@uw.edu
(206) 685-7594
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Hydroclimatology and hydrologic processes; Field study and modeling of snowmelt; Hydrology and meteorology within nested subbasins of alpine watersheds
Peter Mackenzie Mackenzie, Peter
Research Associate Professor
More 121D
pmackenz@uw.edu
(206) 724-7589
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Finite Element Technology; Material Point Method; Discontinuous Galerkin Method; Beam, Plate, and Shell Structures; Structural Stability; Constitutive Modeling of Anisotropic Materials; Soil-Structure Interaction; Contact Analysis (FEM)
Don MacKenzie MacKenzie, Don
Assistant Professor
More 121B
dwhm@uw.edu
(206) 685-7198
Transportation Engineering

Energy impacts of emerging transportation technologies; Vehicle electrification; Vehicle automation; Transportation policy & economics
Joe P. Mahoney Mahoney, Joe P.
William M. and Marilyn M. Conner Professor
More 133D
jmahoney@uw.edu
(206) 685-1760
Construction Engineering

Transportation and construction; Pavement systems
Ed McCormack McCormack, Ed
Research Assistant Professor
More 121C
edm@uw.edu
(206) 543-3348
Transportation Engineering

Freight Transportation; Transportation Infrastructure Protection; Land Use and Transportation; Technology and Transportation
Gregory R. Miller Miller, Gregory R.
Professor and Department Chair
More 201C
gmiller@uw.edu
(206) 543-0350
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Solid mechanics; Computational methods; Engineering Education
Michael Motley Motley, Michael
Assistant Professor
More 233D
mrmotley@uw.edu
(206) 685-1709
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Energy producing and energy-efficient structures; Probability and reliability-based design methods; Multidisciplinary integrated design methods; Fluid-structure interactions; Blast-resistant structures
Stephen T. Muench Muench, Stephen T.
Tom and Marilyn Draeger - The Beavers Charitable Trust Associate Professor
More 133C
stmuench@uw.edu
(206) 616-1259
Construction Engineering

Sustainable transportation infrastructure; Transportation construction; Pavements; Online training
Rebecca B. Neumann Neumann, Rebecca B.
Assistant Professor
Wilcox 168
rbneum@uw.edu
(206) 221-2298
Environmental Engineering
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics
Subsurface hydrology and metal biogeochemistry; Plant-controlled below-ground hydrology and biogeochemistry; Field, lab and modeling studies of water and food quality
Bart Nijssen Nijssen, Bart
Research Associate Professor
Wilson Ceramics Lab 111
nijssen@uw.edu
(206) 616-0901
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Modeling of hydrological processes; Nowcasting and forecasting; Renewable energy; Remote sensing applications in hydrology; Climate change
Michael J. Pilat Pilat, Michael J.
Professor Emeritus
Wilcox 266
mpilat@uw.edu
(206) 543-4789
Environmental Engineering

Control of Air Pollutant Emission; Emission Source Monitoring; Toxic and Hazardous Air Pollutants
Dorothy A. Reed Reed, Dorothy A.
Professor
Wilcox 263
reed@uw.edu
(206) 543-0351
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Structural and wind engineering
Charles W. Roeder Roeder, Charles W.
Professor
More 233B
croeder@uw.edu
(206) 543-6199
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Experimental and analytical research on the general behavior of structures; Seismic behavior of steel and composite structures; Fatigue of steel structures
Scott Rutherford Rutherford, Scott
Professor
Director, Valle Program
Director, Sustainable Transportation Program
Wilson Ceramics Lab, Room 110
scottrut@uw.edu
(206) 685-2481
Transportation Engineering

Transit Planning;Transportation Planning and Policy; Travel Demand Management
David A. Stahl Stahl, David A.
Professor
More 302
dastahl@uw.edu
(206) 685-8502
Environmental Engineering

General Microbial Ecology; Applied Microbial Ecology; Microbial Evolution and Systematics
John F. Stanton Stanton, John F.
Professor
More 214A
stanton@uw.edu
(206) 543-6057
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Mathematical modeling of structures; Seismic isolation; Precast and prestressed concrete
David Stensel Stensel, David
Professor
More 303
stensel@uw.edu
(206) 543-9358
Environmental Engineering

Biological Nutrient Removal; Biodegradation of Micropollutants; Membrane Bioreactors; Anaerobic Digestion; Biomethane Production; Activated Sludge Modeling; Bioselector Designs; Oxygen Transfer
Stuart E. Strand Strand, Stuart E.
Research Professor
Wilcox 167
sstrand@uw.edu
(206) 543-5350
Environmental Engineering

Microbial processes for remediation of organic contaminants ; Phytoremediation of contaminated environment; Biological wastewater treatment processes
James M. Thomson Thomson, James M.
Associate Professor
Applied Physics Lab
jthomson@apl.washington.edu
(206) 616-0858
Hydrology and Hydrodynamics

Coastal oceanography and morphodynamics; Surface-gravity waves; Field observations and remote sensing; Marine renewable energy
Yinhai Wang Wang, Yinhai
Professor
Director , PacTrans and STAR Lab
More 121F
yinhai@uw.edu
(206) 616-2696
Transportation Engineering

Advanced Traffic Detection Systems; Large-Scale Traffic System Modeling and Analysis; Traffic Operations; Transportation Safety
Joseph Wartman Wartman, Joseph
H. R. Berg Associate Professor
More 132
wartman@uw.edu
206-685-4806
Geotechnical Engineering

Geotechnical earthquake engineering; Engineering geology; Sustainable geotechnics; Spatial analysis; Natural hazards
Richard Wiebe Wiebe, Richard
Assistant Professor
More 214 B
rwiebe@uw.edu
(206) 221-1476
Structural Engineering and Mechanics

Nonlinear dynamics; Experimental mechanics; Structural engineering; Aerospace structures; Buckling, finite element modeling