Skip to main content

News & events

Honors & awards

June 3, 2024

Congratulations to students and faculty who have received awards, scholarships and other honors.

Professor Pedro Arduino, Professor Alex Horner-Devine, Professor Julian Marshall, Professor Yinhai Wang, and Assistant Teaching Professor Julian Yamaura headshots

Professor Pedro Arduino, Professor Alex Horner-Devine, Professor Julian Marshall, Professor Yinhai Wang and Assistant Teaching Professor Julian Yamaura were recognized with Faculty Appreciation for Career Education & Training (FACET) Awards in May. These awards honor faculty that are nominated by their students for their commitment to helping students prepare for their careers. The FACET program was founded in 2019 by the UW’s Career Center at Engineering.

Matthew Bonner headshot

Environmental engineering student Matthew Bonner was selected as a 2024 Dean’s Medalist. Each year, the College of Engineering awards two exceptional graduating seniors with the Dean’s Medal for Academic Excellence. The award recognizes outstanding academic achievement, research activities and campus and extracurricular involvement.

Professor Emeritus Steve Burges headshot

Professor Emeritus Steve Burges was the 2023 recipient of the American Water Resources Association (AWRA) Fellow Member Award. The award recognizes his notable contributions to water resources science and technology. His work throughout his career with CEE significantly advanced understanding and management of hydrologic and water resources engineering.

Joel Eklof headshot

Graduate student Joel Eklof has been selected by the American Geophysical Union (AGU) for the 2024 Voices for Science program. This program recognizes scientists with strong communication skills and a passion for sharing the value and impact of Earth and space science with decision makers, journalists and the public.

Jana Escoton and Lilia Gonzalez headshots

Seniors Jana Escoton and Lilia Gonzalez were awarded the Clark Construction Scholarship, each receiving $2,500. Clark Construction Group is known for being a leader in green building contracting, and the scholarship recognizes students who show outstanding academic achievements and dedication to civil engineering.

Assistant Professor Bethany Gordon headshot

Assistant Professor Bethany Gordon contributed to a paper that was awarded the 2024 Best Policy-Oriented Paper Award by the Journal of Water Resources Planning and Management. The winning paper, “Equity in Water Resources Planning: A Path Forward for Decision Support Modelers,” examined water resource planning and access.

Professor Julian Marshall headshot

Professor Julian Marshall was selected to join the Clean Air Science Advisory Council (CASAC) NOx Panel for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The panel will be revising the concentration standard for nitrogen oxides (NOx) as part of the Clean Air Act. Panel members were invited to apply and were subsequently selected for this panel based on their expertise in air quality and environmental health research.

Professor Brett Maurer and graduate student Morgan Sanger headshots

Professor Brett Maurer and graduate student Morgan Sanger were awarded the 2023 Earthquake Spectra Outstanding Paper of the Year Award by the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute for their paper, “Why AI models for predicting soil liquefaction have been ignored, plus some that shouldn’t be,” which looks at AI use in earthquake hazard mitigation.

Ben Nguyen and Kalli Gallegos headshots

Senior Ben Nguyen and junior Kalli Gallegos were awarded the Beavers Charitable Trust Scholarship, each receiving $5,000. These scholarships are given to students who plan to pursue careers in construction engineering and have completed internships with construction companies.

Professor Dorothy Reed headshot

Professor Dorothy Reed was inducted as a fellow of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) in September 2023 and became a fellow of the Structural Engineering Institute (SEI) in January 2024. This honor, awarded to just 3% of ASCE members, recognizes those whose “contributions and creative solutions have changed lives around the world.”

Morgan Sanger headshot

Graduate student Morgan Sanger was awarded third place at the 2024 ASCE Geocongress National Poster Competition for her poster, "GeospAItial Liquefaction: Using mechanics-informed AI and geospatial data for liquefaction hazard planning and response." This recognition highlights her approach to utilizing AI and geospatial data to address liquefaction hazards.

Rubina Singh headshot

Graduate student Rubina Singh was awarded the Helene M. Overly Scholarship from the Women's Transportation Seminar (WTS). WTS offers scholarships each year to women and nonbinary people pursuing their education in the transportation field.

Nathalie Thelemaque headshot

Graduate student Nathalie Thelemaque was awarded the 2024 Graduate School Medal. This prestigious $5,000 award recognizes one UW graduate student for their outstanding citizen-scholar work. Thelemaque was selected from a competitive pool and evaluated on her ability to integrate academic expertise with social awareness, demonstrating civic engagement and the capacity to promote political, cultural and social change.

Professor Yinhai Wang headshot

Director of PacTrans and Professor Yinhai Wang chaired the Artificial Intelligence and Advanced Computing Applications Committee (AED50) at the 2024 Transportation Research Board (TRB) Annual Meeting in Washington, D.C. This committee was awarded the TRB Blue Ribbon Award in Leadership for its comprehensive enhancements to management and operations, which significantly propelled the adoption of AI and advanced computing technologies while fostering the growth of the AI workforce within the transportation sector.

Undergraduate student Peter Yu and graduate students Fanny Okaikue-Woodi and Nathalie Thelemaque headshots

CEE undergraduate student Peter Yu and graduate students Fanny Okaikue-Woodi and Nathalie Thelemaque were selected for the 2024 Husky 100, which recognizes 100 students making the most of their time at the UW.