Skip to main content

People

Staff

Academic Services and Advising Communications Computing Fiscal & Grants Laboratory/Technical Staff Advancement Research Staff Center Staff

Administrative Staff
  Staff Member Responsibilities
Laura Lowes Laura N. Lowes
Department Chair

More 233C
206-685-2563
lowes@uw.edu
 
Person placeholder image Ted Hanson
Administrator

More 201
206-616-1667
tjhanson@uw.edu
  • Strategic planning
  • Department operations and finance
  • Human resources
  • Staff recruitment/hiring
  • Budgeting and projections (non-sponsored budgets)
  • Building coordinator for Harris Hydraulics Lab
  • Equipment inventory and insurance
  • COVID-19 site supervisor
  • Building access and keys
image placeholder Karen Heath
Assistant to the Chair

More 201B
206-543-8883
karenh3@uw.edu

 

  • Chair's office operations
  • Faculty/Outside Instructor Hiring / Academic HR
  • Promotion & Tenure
  • Postdoctoral Associate and Visiting Scholar/Scientist appointments
  • Department Events
  • Chair's calendar
  • Department Committees
  • Key administration
Academic Services and Advising
  Staff Member Responsibilities
Bryan Crockett Bryan Crockett
Director of Academic Services

More 201G
206-616-1891
bryantc@uw.edu
  • Direct CEE Academic Services and Advising
  • Valle Program Adviser
  • Graduate Advising:
    • PhD
    • MSCE – Thesis
    • MSCE – Professional Master's Program
  • Graduate Fellowships
  • Academic Misconduct
Lauren Cushner

Lauren Cushner
Program Coordinator

More 201J
206-221-9165
laurcush@uw.edu

  • Time Scheduling
  • Curriculum management
  • Classroom changes/requests
  • Add codes/general registration questions
  • Course evaluations
Charlotte Emigh

Charlotte Emigh
Undergraduate Adviser

More 201
206-543-5092
cemigh@uw.edu

Eric Huberty Eric Huberty
Graduate Program Adviser

More 201H
206-616-3853
ehuberty@uw.edu
  • Graduate Advising:
    • PhD
    • MSCE – Thesis
    • MSCE – Professional Master's Program
  • Graduate Fellowships
  • Graduate Student Academic Misconduct
Brian Kinnear Brian Kinnear
Undergraduate Adviser

More 201F
206-221-2181
kinnear@uw.edu
Jennifer Ross Jennifer Ross
Online Graduate Programs Adviser

Wilson Ceramics Lab 109
206-685-2227
jenross1@uw.edu
  • Graduate Advising:
    • Supply Chain Transportation & Logistics (SCTL)
    • Master’s in Sustainable Transportation
    • Construction Online
    • Energy Infrastructre
Communications
Brooke Fisher Brooke Fisher
Marketing & Communications Manager

Engr Annex 211
206-543-4514
brooke22@uw.edu
  • Bridge newsletter
  • Web site content
  • Departmental flyers and print pieces
  • Story ideas (student features, innovative research, etc.)
  • Photography
Juannan Zhou Juannan (Sunday) Zhou
Web Information Specialist

Engr Annex 209
206-616-5220
ceewebhelp@engr.washington.edu
  • Web content development
  • Website maintenance
Computing
  Staff Member Responsibilities
Serhad Atakturk Serhad Atakturk
Senior Computer Specialist

More 128
206-685-6695
serhad@uw.edu
  • Software & Hardware Purchases
  • Telephones
  • CEE Mail & Network Services
  • IT Support (Computers & Devices, RICOH copiers, Networking)
  • Server Management
Nicholas Burmeister Nicholas Burmeister
Computer Support Technician

More 011
206-543-6314
nburm@uw.edu
  • OS & Software Deployment
  • Computer Lab Management
  • Building Access via Husky Card
  • IT Support (Computers & Devices, RICOH copiers, Networking)
  • Server Management
Fiscal & Grants
  Staff Member Responsibilities
Jill Klein Jill Klein
Grants Manager

More 309B
206-543-2392
jiklein@uw.edu
  • Grants & Contracts Management
  • Proposal Submissions
  • Budget Reporting
  • Salary Planning
  • Cost Share Commitments
Sandra Ngo Sandra Ngo
Grants Manager

More 309A
206-685-1024
slachan@uw.edu
  • Grants & Contracts Management
  • Proposal Submissions
  • Budget Reporting
  • Salary Planning
  • Cost Share Commitments
Cind Phan Cindy Phan
Budget Manager

More 201A
206-685-6645
cmphan@uw.edu
  • Payroll
  • Scholarship/fellowship disbursements
  • Effort reporting (GCCRs/FECs)
  • Budgeting and projections (non-sponsored budgets)
  • Grad student and hourly appointments
  • Visa processing
  • VISIT/VISER appointments
Jessica Ramil Jessica Ramil
Fiscal Specialist

More 201E
206-685-2312
ramilj@uw.edu
  • CEE building keys
  • Reimbursements
  • Purchasing
  • ProCard administration
  • Travel administration
Josie A. Samson Josie A. Samson
Fiscal Specialist

More 201E
206-543-2391
jsamson@uw.edu
  • Reimbursements
  • Purchasing
  • ProCard administration
  • Travel administration
  • Paying Invoices
  • Payment to Individual, Non-PO Invoices
Laboratory/Technical Staff
  Staff Member Responsibilities
Vongsant (Vince) Chaijaroen Vongsant (Vince) Chaijaroen
Research Scientist Engineering II

More 042
206-543-7433
vchaijar@uw.edu
  • Structures lab
Heather Simmons Heather Simmons
Engineering Technician 3

More 129
206-543-4064
simmonsh@uw.edu
  • Geotechnical Lab
  • Construction Materials Lab
Sean Yeung Sean Yeung
Lab & Instrumentation Manager

More 324D
206-543-2547
jsean@uw.edu
  • Lab & shop safety
  • Environmental labs
  • Analytical instrumentation
  • CT scanner
  • Building coordinator for More Hall, Wilcox Hall, and Wilson Ceramics
Advancement
  Staff Member Responsibilities
image of Kaitlin Colleary Kaitlin Colleary
Associate Director

Loew 301W
206-685-6192
kaitcoll@uw.edu
  • Gifts/Donations
  • Alumni relations
  • Planned giving
image of Janeka Rector Janeka Rector
Assistant Director

Loew 301X
206-543-8779
janekar@uw.edu
  • Gifts/Donations
  • Alumni relations
  • Planned giving
Research Staff
  Staff Member Responsibilities
Christina Bandaragoda Christina Bandaragoda
Research Scientist

Wilcox 266
206-543-4789
cband@uw.edu
 
Nicoleta Cristea Nicoleta Cristea
Research Scientist

Wilcox 159
cristn@uw.edu
 
Bruce Godfrey Bruce Godfrey
Research Scientist/Engineer 2

206-616-7435
bgodfrey@uw.edu
 
Tim Gould Tim Gould
Research Scientist

Wilcox 270
206-543-8195
tgould@u.washington.edu
 
Long Zhang Long Zhang
Research Scientist
Benjamin Hall 490
206-685-2927
longz@uw.edu
 
Center Staff
  Staff Member Responsibilities
Julie Angeley Julie Angeley
Program Operations Specialist, Washington State Transportation Center (TRAC)

206-543-3341
jcomiske@uw.edu
 
Ryan Avery Ryan Avery
Senior Research Engineer, Washington State Transportation Center (TRAC)

206-792-5011
rpavery@uw.edu
 
Jeffrey Berman Jeffrey Berman
Rapid Experimental Facility Site Operations Director
Professor

More 214C
206-616-3530
jwberman@uw.edu
 
Anne Goodchild Anne Goodchild
Director, Supply Chain Transportation & Logistics (SCTL)

Wilson 111
206-543-3747
annegood@uw.edu
 
Michael Grilliot Michael Grilliot
Operations Manager, RAPID Facility

206-616-3318
grilliot@uw.edu
 
Elizabeth Guzy Elizabeth Guzy
Program Operations Specialist, Supply Chain Transportation & Logistics (SCTL)

eguzy@uw.edu
 
Mark Hallenbeck Mark Hallenbeck
Director and Transportation Lecturer, Washington State Transportation Center (TRAC)

206-543-6261
tracmark@uw.edu
 
Bill Keough Bill Keough
Managing Director and Lecturer, Supply Chain Transportation & Logistics (SCTL)

Wilson Ceramics Lab 202
206-685-0853
wkeough@uw.edu
 
Cole Kopca Cole Kopca
Assistant Director, Pacific Northwest Transportation Consortium (PacTrans)

206-685-6648
ckopca@uw.edu
 
Andrew Lyda Andrew Lyda
Operations Engineer, RAPID Facility

206-616-3318
awlyda@uw.edu
 
Edward McCormack Edward McCormack
Director, Master of Sustainable Transportation Program
Research Associate Professor

Wilson Ceramics Lab 109
206-543-3348
edm@uw.edu
 
Stephen Muench Stephen Muench
Valle Program Director
Professor

More 133C
206-616-1259
stmuench@uw.edu
 
Amy O’Brien Amy O’Brien
Technical Communications Specialist, Washington State Transportation Center (TRAC)

206-685-2644
amyo@uw.edu
 
Melanie Paredes Melanie Paredes
Program Coordinator, Pacific Northwest Transportation Consortium (PacTrans)

206-685-0395
melqcp@uw.edu
  • PacTrans Budget reconciliation
  • PacTrans Travel
  • PacTrans Purchasing
  • PacTrans Bpos
  • PacTrans Reimbursements
  • Misc PacTrans Administration
Jacqueline Peltier Jacqueline Peltier
Operations Specialist, RAPID Facility

206-616-3318
jpeltier@uw.edu
 
Andisheh Ranjbari Andisheh Ranjbari
Research Engineer, Supply Chain Transportation & Logistics (SCTL)

206-616-2528
ranjbari@uw.edu
 
Yinhai Wang Yinhai Wang
Director, Pacific Northwest Transportation Consortium (PacTrans)
Professor

More 121F
206-616-2696
yinhai@uw.edu
 
Katie Ward Katie Ward
Marketing and Communications Coordinator, Supply Chain Transportation & Logistics (SCTL)

Wilson Ceramics Lab 105
206-221-6407
krw2@uw.edu
Joseph Wartman Joseph Wartman
Principal Investigator and Director, Rapid Experimental Facility
H. R. Berg Professor

More 132
206-685-4806
wartman@uw.edu
 
Christina Yarbrough Christina Yarbrough
Finance, Grants, and Research Manager, Pacific Northwest Transportation Consortium (PacTrans)

206-221-4145
crystina@uw.edu
 
Dmitri Zyuzin Dmitri Zyuzin
Systems Analyst/Programmer, Washington State Transportation Center (TRAC)

425-373-6790
dzyuzin@uw.edu